Practicing The Guitar Without Looking

My reasons for practicing without looking and how it can improve overall technique.

It’s a a good idea to train yourself to relying less on seeing the guitar neck, in case of distractions on stage or bad lighting, to allow better communication with band members and for better focus. However, this video focuses on the technical benefits of “blind” practice.

What threw me was trying a method in which you actually get it wrong a lot – completely counter to my training which says “never allow yourself to practice mistakes”. In this case, it does seem to be fine to make a flying-tap out of nowhere, on to totally the wrong fret, as it appears that the body gathers this as reference material and still continues to learn, telling itself “Ok, you aimed for fret 7 but you hit fret 6. So now we know where fret 6 is. Let’s absorb that knowledge into our map and try again”.

Thanks to sensational composer guitarist Stephen Yates for helpful discussions on the topic.

Don’t forget to click through to the links to my Guitar Masters Competition Video and give it a “thumbs up” to vote for me in the contest. Enough votes could get me to Poland for the live rounds this November!

Screen Shot 2016-08-10 at 10.30.43.png

 

Lastly, I’m really pleased because this is the first vlog I’ve shot with a standalone camera, rather than laptop/phone. Let me know what you think of the results. Here’s the comparison with my old way of doing it (left).

-Kimwei

Also check out the Symphony For Happines Vlog

… and connect with me @:

facebook.com/kimweidotcom

Music @:

kimwei.com

youtube.com/kimweidotcom

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

