How to raise £1250 in 22 days

Yesterday it started to truly dawn on me that the mammoth task ahead was to raise £1750 in the next 22 days to set up my new recording studio, Goldflower Studios. It’s a project I totally believe in – to enable free range, organic (unsigned) musicians to make top quality recordings, whatever their budget. The Kickstarter video looks great, the rewards start from as little as £1 for a digital copy of my latest album (the price will rise after the Kickstarter project finishes on August 23rd). I couldn’t be more proud of this album, recorded through Goldflower Studios, so £1 is fantastic value for this hour of music.

Yes, it’s true that many people had pledged money so far, to the tune of £250, and that’s fantastic! But, that still left £1750 to go, and the hugeness of that figure has really struck me in the last week. How on earth is this going to actually happen?

Never fear – I have no idea!

I rarely complain, especially in print, however a friend of mine persuaded me that my struggles should be a part of this weblog. “You’re trying to do what everyone wants to be doing – living without feeling trapped. If it was easy everyone would be doing it, so you ARE going to struggle. So write about your problems and because how you solve them is going to be an important part of the story.”

She’s right.

I mean, let’s get things in perspective; I’m not living in a developing country, starving or being forced to work 16hr days in a Nike factory. But that’s part of the point – we live in a privileged country, yet so many people are fighting to make ends meet. This seems wrong somehow.

There must be an alternative to the wage-slave way of life. I am not willing to accept it and as a result have turned away from my well-paid job. Instead, I aim to find a way of living abundantly on a low income to allow myself the time to be creative and generally have a better quality of life. However, this month, even that is proving difficult.

Busking has taken a down turn, probably because it’s so hot that people are rushing to get out of the sun rather than stopping to listen to buskers. I am struggling to earn the amount that I need to pay for the essentials I can’t trade for (food, fuel, cooking gas, mobile phone bill, repairs to van or computer). I thought that if I found creative ways to live on less money through my £0 Challenge, then I could easily make my way by busking and ad-hock work, but currently things are looking grim. Friends have offered financial help or to buy me dinner, but I’m looking for a new and innovative way of living, not a new and innovative way of sponging off my mates.

“Oh well,” I said to another friend. If it doesn’t work out, I can just go back into the system – get a job, etc…”

How do you raise £1250 in 22 days...? Use your superhero powers of course!

How do you raise £1250 in 22 days…? Use your superhero powers of course!

“DON’T DO THAT!” she exclaimed “You’re a little ray of light that helps me believe that the world isn’t as bad as I think it is.”

Yesterday evening I didn’t feel like a “ray of light” at all. But just then, just when I was in the middle of complaining and feeling stuck, something amazing happened: someone pledged £500 to my Kickstarter project.

Let’s just hear that again.

SOMEONE PLEDGED £500 TO MY KICKSTARTER PROJECT!

I can’t quite believe it! It’s incredible that someone believes in what I’m doing enough to put forward that amount of money. Suddenly there is only £1250 left to go and my faith has been restored. INCREDIBLE! THANKYOU THANKYOU THANKYOU!

This is not to say that any pledge, no matter how small is to be scoffed at. I’m so grateful to each an every person who has pledged so far and I sincerely hope that they enjoy the rewards that I’ll send.

Yet, if you hoped this post would tell you how to raise £1250 in 22 days, I’m sorry – I don’t know how to do that…yet. But I now have faith that it IS possible. You’ll just have to watch me whilst I figure out how.

In the mean time, there’s a great record just waiting for you at https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/kimwei/refraction-and-redemption-a-new-album .

  • Pledge to get the album cheaper than it’ll be sold for once the Kickstarter finishes.
  • Pledge because you believe in an alternative to the music industry
  • Pledge to get me to perform in your living room, or any of the other rewards that are on offer.

Any pledge is valuable to me, and you can help even more by telling your friends about it too.

Love and light

Kimwei

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “How to raise £1250 in 22 days

  1. Pingback: £0 to £2k in 2 months. No day-job: just music. How? | Symphony For Happiness

Leave a Reply

