Will today be the day I completely run out of money?

I live in a van (or “vansion” as I call it). Sometimes I housesit, but I can’t guarantee when I’ll be lucky, so I rely on my van as a place to call home. I’m also trying to run out of money as part of a £0 Challenge I’ve set myself. Of course, one of the fears I’ll be facing in during this challenge is what happens if I don’t have enough money to keep my vansion on the road? Since I started the challenge I’ve been less of a consumer and needed less money. I’ve found ways to get some of my food, clothes and books for free by “wombling”. But I still worry because there are some things only money can buy – laptop, phone, phone contract, bike parts, diesel, vehicle repairs and…

…oh no! The van is faulty!

Now’s the time to face that fear.

Everything's going wrong!  The van is faulty and my guitar has shrunk in the wash!

Everything’s going wrong! The van is faulty and my guitar has shrunk in the wash!

The rules of the challenge state that I must let my bank balance run to £0 before I can chase work. I can accept work if offered, but I can’t seek it – mimicking what would happen if my self-employed business ran dry. After that, the aim is to work up from nothing without begging, borrowing or stealing.

My own rules may have tied me in a knot.

The vansion is booked in to be fixed today. I’ll eagerly await the phonecall telling me the cost of the repairs and asking me if they should go ahead. If the amount is greater than what I have left in the bank, then what do I do?

What if I had £150 left in the bank and the repairs cost £200?

Do I simply treat that as my £0 point? If so, I can start earning money, earn the extra £50, pay the £200 for the repairs and end up at £0. I’d be following my own rules in the spirit of the challenge, but not following the rules to the letter.

Or do I follow the own rules, not just in the spirit of the challenge, but strictly and literally? Since those rules state that I can’t seek work until my bank balance drops to £0, then I’d have to wait until I’d spent my remaining £150 before I’d even be allowed to try and earn money. Then I’d have to wait until I’d earned the whole £200 from scratch before I could repair the van.

What do you think I should do? How strict should I be?

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Will today be the day I completely run out of money?

  1. the first one. find out how much its going to cost, then work out what you’ll need to do to reach £0 – ie as you said £200 = earn £50. madness to let a passing challenge be the ruin of the vansion…

  2. David

    The spirit of any law is why it was made. If you start following the letter it becomes a game. A lot of the problems in the world come from people who want to ignore the spirit finding a way to make the words work for them. The world is more than words.

  3. As it turned out… the van repairs cost LESS than the amount of money I had left…

Leave a Reply

