YouTube Generation – What do YOU want to watch?

The closest thing I’ve got to a professional music video is that one I filmed myself five years ago now. I shot it using one cheap camera, one desk lamp, black curtains, a guitar and two tea-lights, followed by banging my head against Final Cut Pro for a week or two. ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h3I8yKAcsSo ) I thought I did ok given the resources, but it goes without saying that it’s high time I got something proper done.

My question to you is: What do YOU want to watch?

Are you only interested in HD films by folk who have the skills/budget to make them, or does high resolution not really matter to you?

The YouTube phenomenon has seen musicians attract record deals by posting videos filmed using their laptop’s inbuilt webcam and mic. It’s also seen celebrities who are perfectly capable of putting out high quality footage, gaining a huge following on by posting video-blogs filmed on their phones.

A non-musician friend of mine freaked me out recently when he said he’d heard my new audio recordings and thought the overall sound had got much better since he last looked me up on YouTube. When I asked him which YouTube videos he’d seen, I was horrified to discover that he’d assumed the videos I’d recorded solely on cheap cameras or phone were examples of the audio from my recording studio! This sort of thing worries me. I also wonder sometimes if the average listener doesn’t hear the difference in recording quality for audio, as much as they just think you’re playing badly on those lo-fi recordings.

So here’s my question again: What do YOU want to watch? Or more specifically, to relate it to my own profession – what kind of films do you want to see independent singer-songwriters make?

Is it ok to post stuff we’ve filmed at low quality, little and often, just for fun, to keep in touch with you and to keep it fresh? Or would you rather wait and watch something really polished, with high quality audio and a sparkly finish?

Do you mind if it’s just us in a room with a camera – one camera angle, one take? Do you think that shows lack of effort? Or do you prefer static camera music videos because they prove it’s live and all one take – keeping music real when so much is mimed these days?

Is there one element that’s more important to you than all the rest. For example, do you hate blurry videos? Do you think lo-res is ok as long as the audio is studio quality? What makes you keep watching?

Would love to hear your opinions.

Kimwei

PS: Here’s a recording of “Smelly Cat” that I just did on my phone last week to test the theory. I made a point of editing and uploading it using the phone too. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4F83Z5bosVA

I actually recorded separate audio at the time. Soon I’ll upload a cropped and polished version of the same video, with the separate audio replaced to show the difference and see what you think.

PPS: If there’s anyone out there who’s keen to make a video for any of the songs at the following link please contact me: http://www.reverbnation.com/kimwei

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

